PhD Studentships and MA Scholarships in Exeter's Department of Politics 2009-10

PhD Studentships and MA Scholarships in Exeter’s Department of Politics 2009-10

Exeter’s Department of Politics, one of the top ten research departments in the country for world leading research (RAE 2008), is pleased to invite applications for PhD and MA awards to begin October 2009. We are offering four types of funding:

1. ESRC Studentship (1+3/+3 funding)
2. Departmental Studentships (3 years funding) 3. Bursaries (3 years funding) 4. MA Scholarships

Awards are open to all fields of politics represented within the department, including International Relations, Political Theory, Middle East Politics, Public Policy, Comparative Politics and Public Opinion and Electoral Behaviour. See

1. ESRC PhD Studentship (1+3/+3)
Funding is available for a three-year PhD studentship (+3) or a four-year programme of training (1+3) including an MRes in Politics.  The award includes full payment of Home fees and an annual stipend (£13,290 in 2009/10), subject to satisfactory progress. This award is open to UK and other EU students who meet University and ESRC eligibility requirements.

2. Departmental Studentships available to students beginning programmes in Politics in 2009/10. These prestigious awards are worth over £49,500 for home students and £68,000 for international students over three years.

3. Bursaries available to students beginning MPhil and PhD programmes in Politics in 2009/10. The awards are worth £21,000 over three years.

Application deadline: 27th March 2009 . To be considered for one of our studentships/bursaries, applicants need to have received an offer by Friday 27th March.

For more information about these studentships and bursaries please see: For enquiries please contact Professor Andrew Massey (<>).

4. We are offering a series of full fee and merit scholarships for MA students. The Politics Department is offering two DFID Commonwealth scholarships to study for its Master of Public Administration (MPA) programme. For more information see

Sara McLaughlin Mitchell
Associate Professor & Placement Director
Department of Political Science
University of Iowa
Iowa City, IA 52242

Related posts